Endless Love – thoughts

OK – I read the book and saw the movie. Movie was pretty bad but it was like a car accident on the side of the road. You could not stop watching it and it was remained a movie to remember for a long time. The book is excellent and nothing like the move. Now..what is the directors vision? The book in pure form – which reads with a Catcher in the Rye feel or a (gasp) ya tween romance – Twilight with no vampire BS. How is the target audience. The book is really aimed at adults – its for lack of a better word – heavy and political and sexual and psychotic. Thoughts?

7 thoughts on “Endless Love – thoughts

  1. I havent read the book nor watched the movie, so I cant really comment on them. But as you said that the book is really good, I hope the remake would capture all the aspects and qualities that made the book really good. Im just going to trust the director and screenwriter that they know what theyre doing…..

  2. I think it is always a mistake to trust filmmakers, they very often do the wrong thing, but I hope they go back to the book and ignore the old movie. Apparently the movie was controversial in its time because of the semi-explicit sexuality. If the new movie ends up with a PG rating I will know that they screwed it up. Even a PG-13 seems like a stretch.

  3. I haven’t read the book or seen the movie either, so I can’t comment on that. I will get the book but pass on the movie (but at least it wasn’t boring – could have been worse). I don’t like the title because for me it denotes a sappy teen romance, which, well, I need say no more. But the book sounds good, and the title will take on a different meaning for me, once I’ve read it. Target audience? Probably teen, young adult, women. I can’t see too many guys lining up on their own to see this, on the other hand, it could be a great date movie, so it could do well on that. And look at Magic Mike. Lots of guys liked that (I mean straight) my husband laughed through the whole thing. So . . . let’s keep out fingers crossed that they don’t screw it up.

    Happy Birthday Karen! Have a great day. πŸ™‚

  4. AWW thanks! My riding club got to ride on a private estate – 400 acres of green rolling hills on the ocean. We galloped on the beach! After there was shrimp, champagne, cakes, chocolate covered strawberrys – amazing. I am exhausted. Long drive back to the city. Great day. Thank you so much for you wishes. I am actually not a big birthday or holiday person but this was a good one!

Leave a Reply

